An Expected Journey.

 “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

My departure date is February 16th, and this will be my first time leaving Canada. This trip is going to be the most adventurous thing I’ve ever done (… as of yet), and it is now less than a month away. I’m starting to get a little freaked out, and am much more nervous about it than I was when I first started this blog dedicated to my coming travels.

I have less than a month and am now trying to frantically finish getting what I need and throwing my odds and ends together. I have half of the major things covered, and hopefully will finish a few more in this coming week (such as purchasing my rail pass, getting my traveller’s insurance, and finally sorting out my phone issues). After that, it will only be a few small items that I will need to collect. There are still things to do, but it is getting close, and I am so excited.

This is going to be huge for me, and backpacking Europe is something I’ve always wanted to do. The years of wanting and months of planning are finally coming together. There are so many other countries I want to see, and places to experience, so if this trip doesn’t deter me, it’ll only be my first adventure.

 

Side notes:

If anyone reading this has backpacked Europe before, I need advice/guidance on SIM card/international phone choices. I’m trying to see if I can unlock my phone and just switch the SIM card while travelling, but if that does not work, I might get a cheap international phone. Does anyone have any experience with these matters? I’m completely new to this and any guidance is appreciated. 🙂

Also, best ways to get from Greece to Turkey? (Particularly to Istanbul)

And once again, if anyone knows of an amazing city/location within western Europe that they have to recommend, let me know, and I’ll see if I can make a stop there!

Thanks for reading, and I promise my posts will get slightly more interesting once I’m actually in Europe.  Until nest time!

5 thoughts on “An Expected Journey.

  1. marian g says:

    Try joining couchsurfing.com. They have wonderful people there who loves to travel and first time travellers as well. But be careful though, don’t just dive in! 🙂 Maybe I’ll describe it as couchsurf at your own risk. But if you can ask them your questions. There are a handful of people I know will be glad to help you. 🙂

    I hope you have a good time during your travel and more adventurous things may come your way! 😀 I really hope that I’ll get to travel while young like you. 🙂 And the thingamajigs you feel, I hope they get replaced by adrenaline! 😀 woohoo!

    PS.: i really love that quote from Mark Twain. Must carve it in my head (figuratively speaking 😉 )

  2. brickthomas says:

    Have a great trip. I’ll be stumbling along latter this year myself but odds are in your favor that you’ll have a safe, remarkable adventure – Mark Twain was right.

Leave a Reply

